Caltech Home > Home > Programs > Grants > Chen Graduate Innovator Grant Awards
Search open search form

Chen Graduate Innovator Grant Awards

The Chen Center for Systems Neuroscience is very proud to announce this year's winners of the Chen Graduate Innovator Grant Awards:

Annie Erickson and Tarun Sharma, Dickinson lab, "Sensorimotor computation underlying praying mantis predatory strike"

Shannon Esswein, Bjorkman lab, "Evaluating temporal proteomics of Zika virus infection in neural progenitor cells using bioorthogonal non-canonical amino acid tagging"

Han Kim, Parker lab, "Investigating the reafferent chemosensory effects of an innate behavior"

Sangjun Lee, Oka lab, "Investigating the neural basis of need-free appetite"

Zsofia Torok, Lois lab, "The role of sleep in birdsong maintenance"

Congratulations to these intrepid graduate innovators!  A graduate research symposium will be held at the end of next year where the students will present their discoveries.

2018-2019 Recipients

Wael N. El-Nachef, Bronner lab, "Investigating Human Postnatal Enteric Neurogenesis by Radiocarbon Dating"

Jonathan D. Kenny and Koichiro Kajikawa, Siapas lab, "Neural circuit dynamics during general anesthesia"

Kyu Hyun Lee, Meister lab, "Investigating the role of cerebellum in cognition"

Guruprasad Raghavan and Varun Wadia, Thomson and Tsao labs, "Fabricating Cortical Computers"

John Thompson, Hsieh-Wilson and Pachter labs, "SUGAR-seq: A New Technology for Simultaneous Glycan and Gene Expression Profiling at the Single-Cell Level"